sanshistory

Home » Uncategorized » George Michael’s “Outside”(1998): A Close Reading -Declan  Gilmore-Kavanagh 

George Michael’s “Outside”(1998): A Close Reading -Declan  Gilmore-Kavanagh 

DoctorFop

Here are my tweets on George Michael’s song “Outside”. A close reading of the lyrics and a homage! Rest in power, George!

Actually… I am going to do a tutorial.
“Back to nature, just human nature

Getting on back to”

– the most powerful lyrics in LGBT music.

Why?

Because from the beginning George Michael returns to sexuality as desire; sex is the meeting of two desiring bodies; gay sex follows the natural logic of two desiring men

There is no place to stigmatise, marginalise, belittle or put-down if the starting point is constructed as natural & shared by most: desire

“I think I’m done with the sofa

I think I’m done with the hall

I think I’m done with the kitchen table, baby”

heterosex is boring! Restricted by social mores and religious strictures

Domesticated hetero sex, a legacy, in part, of the #c18 intro of street lighting, is normative…

View original post 632 more words

Leave a Reply

